We seek to keep our communities updated throughout the accreditation and approval process, and we encourage you to visit this page regularly and provide your feedback.

Accreditation Statements

The LCME accredits medical education programs leading to the M.D. degree in the United States and Canada. United States graduates of LCME-accredited programs are eligible for residency programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and are eligible to take the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE). This includes programs with any of the following accreditation statuses: full, preliminary, provisional, on probation. Read more about the LCME accreditation process at 

Texas Christian University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award baccalaureate, masters, and doctoral degrees. Questions about the accreditation of Texas Christian University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (

The Burnett School of Medicine M.D. program is one which prepares one to practice a field or trade that may be considered professional practice in certain states, and therefore, may require licensure or certification to practice in that field or trade. However, educational requirements for licensure or certification vary by state. The following chart identifies the U.S. states and territories in which the medical education program meets the requirements, does not meet the requirements or we have not made a determination if the curriculum meets the requirements. View .pdf.

What is accreditation?

Accreditation certifies that an educational program meets the requirements and standards of an accrediting body.  Requirements and standards typically address program areas such as governance, faculty, curriculum design and delivery, assessment and evaluation, student support services, resources and facilities.  Educational programs must show that their program supports the mastery of the general educational and professional competencies that are foundational for the next stage of professional training or education.

TCU is accredited by our regional accreditor, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools: Commission on Colleges (SACS COC) and the School of Medicine seeks to be fully accredited by the program-specific accreditor, the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME).

Why is it important?

The accreditation process entails a lengthy self-study process and the development and submission of a large amount of data and materials. It is mainly aimed at answering three important questions.

  • Has our education program clearly established a mission and program learning objectives?
  • Are the education program’s curriculum and resources organized and adequate to meet its mission and objectives?
  • What evidence is available that indicates the program is currently meeting its mission and objectives and is it likely to continue to meet them in the future?


Medical education programs leading to the MD degree in the United States and Canada are accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education or LCME. The LCME is the organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit allopathic medical schools in the United States and Canada. The LCME is an independent organization; however, it is uniquely tied to both the American Medical Association (AMA) and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

LCME accreditation is a peer-review process conducted to determine whether a medical education program meets established standards. This quality assurance process is an opportunity for self-study and reflection and fosters improvements to our programs and institutions.

To gain and maintain accreditation, medical education programs offering an MD degree in the United States and Canada must meet the accreditation 12 overall accreditation standards with 94 specific elements, which can be found in the LCME document Functions and Structure of a Medical School.  The goal of these components is to promote best practices and provide thresholds and evidence of performance. They are not prescriptive, but a framework that allows for interpretation and flexibility in meeting the needs of an institution and ultimately supporting its mission and objectives.

In addition to assuring the quality of an institution’s medical education program, accreditation by LCME establishes eligibility for selected federal grants and programs, including Title VII funding administered by the U.S. Public Health Service. Most state boards of licensure require that U.S. medical schools granting the MD degree be accredited by the LCME as a condition for licensure of their graduates.

Eligibility of U.S. students in MD-granting schools to take the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) requires LCME accreditation of their school. Graduates of LCME-accredited schools are eligible for residency programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).


The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACS COC) is the recognized regional accrediting body in the eleven U.S. Southern states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia) and in Latin America for those institutions of higher education that award associate, baccalaureate, master’s or doctoral degrees. The Commission on Colleges’ Board of Trustees is the representative body of the College Delegate Assembly and is charged with carrying out the accreditation process.

Texas Christian University is currently accredited by SACS COC. To gain or maintain accreditation with the Commission on Colleges, an institution must comply with the standards contained in the Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement and with the policies and procedures of the Commission on Colleges. The Commission on Colleges applies the requirements of its Principles to all applicant, candidate, and member institutions, regardless of type of institution (public, private for-profit, private not-for-profit).

Texas Christian University pursued a substantive change in accreditation with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools: Commission on Colleges (SACS COC). A substantive change is a significant modification or expansion in the nature and scope of an accredited institution. Large scale changes, such as adding significantly different programs to the academic curriculum or offering a majority of the coursework needed to complete a degree, certificate or diploma on-line, may require written notification as well as advance approval of a prospectus; see the Substantive Change policy for details on due dates and on the content of the prospectus. Written notification of the intent for substantive change was made to the SACS COC in July 2015. The Substantive Change Prospectus was submitted and approved in 2018.

Current Status 

TCU submitted its Substantive Change Prospectus to the SACS COC in April 2018. The SACS COC Board of Trustees notified the school of its approval of the program in a letter dated November 8, 2018. TCU is currently in the process of reaffirmation for SACSCOC to be determined in 2023.


The Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine at Texas Christian University was awarded preliminary accreditation from the LCME in October 2018. The Burnett School of Medicine was awarded provisional accreditation from the LCME in June 2021. In June 2023, LCME granted full accreditation for the full five years possible to the Burnett School of Medicine at TCU.



LCME Information

SACS COC Information