Preparation for Practice

This novel component will coalesce around biomedical informatics, geriatrics, population and precision health, cultural competency, patient safety, wellness, global health, health care economics and team approach to care.

This approach goes beyond a traditional medical education, providing students with practical tools and information to solve real-world problems and adapt to radical changes in their career.

Course Director: Dr. Erin Nelson, erin.nelson@tcu.edu 

Assistant Course Director: Dr. Valerie Johnston v.johnston@tcu.edu

Assistant Director – Community Impact Project: Dr. Stacy Grau s.grau@tcu.edu

Ethics

Lead: Stuart Pickell, M.D., s.pickell@tcu.edu

Gerontology

Lead: Janice Knebl, D.O., Janice.Knebl@unthsc.edu

Global Health

Lead: Ryan Stroder, D.O., ryan.stroder@tcu.edu

Health Care Delivery

Lead: Mark Chassay, M.D., M.B.A., mark.chassay@tcu.edu

Health Equity

Lead: TBD

Health Care & Human Centered Design

Lead: Stacy Landreth Grau, Ph.D., s.grau@tcu.edu

Health Care Policy & Advocacy

Lead: Valerie Johnston, Ph.D., M.B.A., v.johnston@tcu.edu

Informatics

Lead: Tim Niacaris, M.D., Ph.D., t.niacaris@tcu.edu

Patient Safety & Continuous Quality Improvement

Lead: Paul Bhella, M.D., paul.bhella@tcu.edu

Psychological & Behavioral Science

Lead: Erin Nelson, Psy.D., erin.nelson@tcu.edu

Public Health

Lead: Talmage Holmes, Ph.D., tholmes@tarrantcounty.com

Team-Based Care

Lead: Val Gokenbach, D.M., R.N., M.B.A., v.gokenbach16@tcu.edu